So, I’ve written about this major project I’ve got going on, without really explaining what it is.

I think it’s time to do that!

It all started with a song i had, which had a nice chorus and some other cool stuff, but i felt the style was a bit too pop and 80’s sounding. I took the best bits and made a new song, more heavy and rocking, some parts sounded better and some parts didn’t sound as good as the original.

From there, I decided to make a longer piece of music, where i could elaborate on the parts, with different variations and in different styles/genres. Instead of having the same lyrics sung over 100 different variations of a chorus, i figured this thing needed to go somewhere, have a story. The idea of a concept album came up, yet i didn’t want to get weighed down with the notion that i HAD to write lots of “stories” about someone or something and be bound to that single thing.

what i came up with as a concept was the process of falling asleep and dreaming.

Because one dream can be vastly different from the next and sometimes, one dream evolves into another.

That way i can write about whatever i want lyrically, but still have an underlying concept. I’m still telling a story, starting before my character falls asleep, to the dreams he has, a nightmare maybe, to the point where he wakes up. I’m also making sure that the music helps glue everything together, with motifs and themes that evolve over the course of the album.

I’m not done yet, there’s a lot more to write and even more to record!

I’ll update ya soon!